Newcastle Knights star Kalyn Ponga wins the 2023 Dally M Medal

In a shock upset, Newcastle Knights National Rugby League NRL star Kalyn Ponga won the 2023 Dally M Medal from Warriors veteran Shaun Johnson by just one point.

Ponga earned the maximum six points in Round 26 and, with many of the big contenders rested in Round 27, it was enough to overhaul Johnson for the win.


Kalyn Ponga: 56 points

Shaun Johnson: 55 points

*Scott Drinkwater: 50 points

Nicho Hynes 48 points

Harry Grant: 47 points

Daly Cherry-Evans 46 points

Addin Fonua-Blake 44 points

NRL Dally M Team of the Year

FULLBACK: Kalyn Ponga (Knights)

WINGERS: Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Warriors) and Jamayne Isaako (Dolphins)

CENTRES: Stephen Crichton (Panthers) and Herbie Farnworth (Broncos)

FIVE-EIGHTH: Ezra Mam (Broncos)

HALFBACK: Shaun Johnson (Warriors)

HOOKER: Harry Grant (Storm)

PROPS: Payne Haas (Broncos) and Addin Fonua-Blake (Warriors)

BACK ROWERS: Liam Martin (Panthers) and David Fifita (Titans)

LOCK: Patrick Carrigan (Broncos)

Meanwhile, Knights star Tamika Upton won the National Rugby League Women NRLW Dally M Medal to cap her stunning season.

NRLW Dally M Team of the Year

FULLBACK: Tamika Upton

WINGERS: Jakiya Whitfeld and Julia Robinson

CENTRES: Isabelle Kelly and Mele Hufanga

FIVE-EIGHTH: Tarryn Aiken

HALFBACK: Ali Brigginshaw

HOOKER: Destiny Brill

PROPS: Sarah Togatuki and Shannon Mato

SECOND ROWERS: Yasmin Clydsdale and Olivia Kernick

LOCK: Simaima Taufa